Support Print this page        

About the onference

November 20-22, 2014. Moscow, Russia. The Russian capital hosted the 2014 Moscow Nonproliferation Conference: Nuclear Energy, Disarmament, and Nonproliferation. The event was organized by the Center for Energy and Security Studies (CENESS).  

The goal of the ‘two-plus' day Conference was to bring together security, nonproliferation and regional experts from think-tanks, governmental agencies and international organizations to brainstorm on the eve of the 2015 NPT Review Conference. Since the Conference was taking place  just a few days before the new extended deadline for P5+1 talks with Iran, it became one of the core issues on the event's agenda. A diverse group of Iranian experts took part in the meeting.  

One of the priorities of the Moscow Nonproliferation Conference  is to offer a platform for scholars and government experts representing a large number of countries and research institutions to present their positions. The Conference brought together 208 experts from 40 countries representing all five populated continents (including countries like China, Brazil, the DPRK, Egypt, Germany, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan, and the United States).

A list of speakers consisted of 55 experts from 22 countries and international organizations, including Deputy Assistant Foreign Minister of Egypt for disarmament and peaceful uses of nuclear energy Sameh Aboul-Enein, former IAEA Director General Hans Blix, Director General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (ASNO) Robert Floyd, Under Secretary of State for arms control and international security affairs Rose Gottemoeller, UN Under-Secretary-General, Special Coordinator of the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)-United Nations Joint Mission to eliminate the chemical weapons program of the Syrian Arab Republic Sigrid Kaag, U.N. High Representative for Disarmament Affairs Angela Kane, Russian Deputy Foreign Minister Sergey Ryabkov, Director of the Department for Nonproliferation and Arms Control of the Russian Foreign Ministry Mikhail Ulyanov, Director General of Iran's MFA Institute for Political and International Studies (IPIS) Mostafa Zahrani, and Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) Preparatory Commission Lassina Zerbo.